Strawberry and Basil Breakfast Smoothie

The other day when I was at the farmers’ market, I used my best haggling skills to snag a small punnet of strawberries (£1.50) and a jar of chutney (£2.50) for only £3.00! Then I sampled a beautiful blue cheese from the Isle of Arran, and bought it. Then I came home and combined the strawberries and the cheese in a salad with some of the basil I’m growing on my windowsill, and a balsamic vinaigrette.

I thought the flavours married perfectly together, and sighed as I looked over to see my brother eating all the lettuce, then all the strawberries then all the cheese.

Today the berries were looking a little tired, so I thought I’d wheich them up into a smoothie. I almost went with your average strawberry and banana, but then spotted the basil bathing in the sun and knew I had to pair the berries with that instead.

A quick visit to my good friend Google provided me with the springboard I needed, and within ten minutes I was blending away and ad-libbing to my heart’s content. This recipe is adapted from Arti Sequeira’s on TheFoodNetwork.com, which I thickened out into a breakfast in itself.

Serves 1, generously.

Ingredients:

1 cup strawberries

4 fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup Greek yoghurt

1/3 cup oats, granola or other cereal-y things

1/4 – 1/2cup milk

2tsp lemon juice

Salt and pepper to taste.

Directions: measure straight into your blender and whiz together until it’s a smoothie! Give it a taste to see if you want to add some more basil, and slosh it around to test the texture before you commit to a glass. To each her own 🙂

I’m all intrigued now – I see a world of blending potential opening out before me. What if I replaced some of the yoghurt with a chunk of that blue cheese? And some of the liquids with vinaigrette? Is a salad smoothie a weird thing for me to want to experiment with? At least that way dear brother couldn’t dissect my gloriously-balanced concoctions to within an inch of their lives 😛

I’m working all day tomorrow and I wish I had more strawberries so I could start tomorrow with this smoothie too. One of these bad boys would surely keep me going until I find the time to eat. Alas, my strawbs are gone, but you can go make this smoothie in my honour if you want. 🙂

All the best!

Megan

xoxox

